By the end of February 2019, My Balances will be shutting down.
When My Balances goes away, all of your linked accounts will be removed. Keep in mind:
- None of your bank login or password information will be saved.
- You’ll lose access to the My Balances page, and all of the historical data that was previously on this page.
- If you're enrolled in our daily balance alert notifications through our Android or iOS mobile app, these notifications will be discontinued.
- You will still have access to your accounts and credit reports as provided by Equifax and TransUnion.
This wasn't an easy decision, but we're excited to rethink this feature in order to make something even better for our members. Please continue to enjoy all the other great features here on Credit Karma!
- What is My Balances?
- How do I link accounts?
- I have a broken link. How do I fix it?
- I’m having a problem with linking my bank.
- Why aren’t my balances updating right away?
- Why are these balances different from what’s on my credit reports?
- How do I unlink or delete my accounts?
- I have several accounts at one bank, but I only want to link one of them.
- What happens to my information after a linked account is deleted?
What is My Balances?
Credit Karma has launched a new beta feature that lets you link your bank accounts and credit cards so you can see up-to-date balances anytime.
Linking an account won’t affect your credit scores and won’t show up on your credit reports. It’s simply a way for you to keep track of your current balances in one place.
How do I link accounts?
You can link your bank accounts and credit cards by going to “My balances” in your Accounts page. Here are the steps:
- Select your bank
- Enter the login info you use for that bank
- In a few moments, you’ll get a confirmation message once the bank is linked
- Link more accounts or exit the account linking portal
After you’re done, you’ll be able to see up-to-date balances on all the checking, savings and credit card accounts you have from that bank. Refresh the page if you don’t see a change.
When you link a bank, all your accounts at that same bank will be visible. So if you have a checking, savings account and credit card with one bank, you’ll see all three linked. That means you won’t be able to hide or delete individual accounts at that bank.
We’re working on adding more types of linked accounts (like mortgages and other loans) in the future. Right now, they’re not supported.
I have a broken link. How do I fix it?
The link to your bank may get broken, especially if you’ve changed your bank login info. You fix a broken link by going to your Profile & Settings, and choosing “Linked Accounts”. Find the bank with the broken link, and click on the “Fix link” button. It will open up a window that takes you through re-linking to that institution.
I’m having a problem with linking my bank.
There are some exceptional cases in which a bank (or a specific financial product from that bank) can not be linked.
Why aren’t my balances updating right away?
Payments and charges that are pending will generally not be reflected in your updated balance.
Balances should update when the change has been fully processed by your bank. It may take a couple hours or more for your bank to process a new payment or a new charge.
Next to the balance amount, you’ll see details about when the balance was updated. If the balanced hasn’t be “updated” in several days, it’s because the bank hasn’t told us that something’s changed.
Why are these balances different from what’s on my credit reports?
Linked account balances come directly from the bank that’s linked. They’re updated often and will be up-to-date.
Credit report balances come directly from the credit bureaus and will likely be different from what’s in your account right now. That’s because the bureaus get their numbers from banks which usually — though not always — report them once a month. There’s no hard and fast rule for all banks, so sometimes it can be confusing. If you want more details, check out our article about when credit card companies report their balances.
How do I unlink or delete my accounts?
You can control which bank accounts you want to delete by adjusting your linked account settings.
When you delete a bank, you’ll be deleting all the accounts at that bank — that means you can’t hide or delete specific accounts at that bank. After you delete a bank, that bank will disappear from “My balances”, including all the historical data that was on this page.
If you choose to relink that bank in the future, you won’t be able to see your historical data. It will be like adding a brand new account.
I have several accounts at one bank, but I only want to link one of them.
Once you link a bank, all your accounts at that same bank will be visible. So if you have a checking, savings account and credit card with one bank, you’ll see all three linked. You can’t hide or delete individual accounts at that bank.
What happens to my information after a linked account is deleted?
If you delete a bank, you’ll be deleting all the linked accounts at that bank — including all past info that was displayed. You aren’t able to selectively delete specific accounts at the same bank. Keep in mind:
- None of your login or password information will be saved
- You’ll lose all of the historical data that you saw on your “My balances” page
- If you choose to relink in the future, you won’t see any of your historical data